Spell Casting

devomage

I've been climbing the UCC mountain daily for about 3 months now. With everything happily working with UCC - here are a few questions/comments.

What is the best way to implement spell casting? Custom weapon or multiple abilities? Both?

Currently, I have overloaded UsableItem similar to ShootableWeapon. A few of the problems I ran into:
  • Consumable shouldn't be required. IE Power/Mana regenerates
  • ShootableWeapon doesn't allow multiple attributes. IE Power + Fatigue
  • ShootableWeapon requires a Projectile. Destructible fits better for most spells. IE creating a 'Wall' spell.
What is the proper way to spawn a Projectile at a specific frame in the animation?

I've added a custom event to each animation - but this feels very hacked.

Any suggestions for these 2 questions would be greatly appreciated.

----------------------------------------------------------
Other notables:
  • A dedicated video on First person arms would be super helpful
  • Can't override SpawnPoint
  • Like others have mentioned - you gotta be a pro animator to even look at the Jump ability
  • Missing tooltips. I see random missing tooltips in the inspector. IE ShootableWeapon > Item Substate
  • Where's the tutorials? Even though this is a 5 star asset - I wouldn't rate above 3 stars because of this. Up from 2 stars, only because I have experience now.
  • "using System" often causes errors. IE add "using System" to ShootableWeapon
  • It'd be great if you could copy/paste abilities. IE open Demo scene, copy ability. open scene X, paste ability.

For spell casting I would subclass IUsableItem and slowly add from there. I would not base my code off of the ShootableWeapon component as there are a lot of differences between spells and weapons that can be fired. Just a note that we are planning on adding spells in version 2.2 but this will likely still be awhile because we first need to get multiplayer/VR out.