How to Disable Use ability while Blocking/Potential Blocking Bug

Edit: I think I do have the state system working after other tests.. So it may likely be more to do with my 2nd follow up post.

Hello.

I am new to the Opsive world and I have UCC and UIS and am working in third person. So far I have been able to work out everything quite well through the documentation as it is very well written. I am getting a little stuck with a particular part in which seems to also be the case in the demo so I have come here for help.

While using a melee sword, I have the block item ability working successfully as well as the counter-attack. I can not seem to figure out how to make the character not be blocking while performing the item use function (attack). So long as I am aiming and facing the character I am invincible (or whatever the set damage in the shield component is). This is the same in the third-person demo in the counter-attack section. So long as I am aiming I am blocking even if Nolan is swinging the sword at the same time. I was hoping seeing it in action in the demo it would clear it up but I now wonder if it can be done that way.

I believe based on what I have been reading that this would likely have something to do with the state system? I have watched the video and read the documentation but I can't seem to get it right.

So in short, could you help me understand how I can deactivate the Block item ability while the Use item ability is active? It seems like it should be so simple but my brain is just not connecting the dots for some reason. There always has to be something haha.

I am sure if I understand this I will have a much greater understanding on a larger scale as I seem to get everything else but this and it can get quite complex.

Sorry for the long-winded explanation.

Thank you.

Last edited: