UCC events (firing, weapon switch, etc.)

bluebird

Hi,

I'm newbie here and learning UCC. I have configured third person controller with assault rifle & sniper rifle with help of your tutorial videos.
now, I need help with collision detection while firing. (I prefered hitscan instead of actual firing of bullet objects)

Can you explain how to use all events in my project? what is correct way to use these events?(general flow for use of UCC events)

for example I want to check, on which object I'm firing with assault rifle??

I found event 'OnHitscanImpactEvent' under ShootableWeapon.cs script
but I'm not sure how to use it correctly. where should I put my custom logic? (I want to detect whether I hit to ground/enemy head/enemy body etc..)

Another confusion with OnHitscanImpactEvent() & OnImpact(). What's the difference between them?
I found OnHitscanImpactEvent() inside ShootableWeapon.cs but didn't find it inside documentation. In documentation, I found OnImpact() and not OnHitscanImpactEvent().

Thanks

Attachments

• 2.PNG
    2.PNG
    28 KB · Views: 47
This page gives a pretty good overview of the event system:

Using the event system the OnHitscanImpactEvent is a Unity event so you can use that with:

OnObjectImpact is the name of the event that is sent, OnHitscanImpactEvent is the name of the field that is exposed to the inspector.

Hi,

Thanks Justin, for links.

Should I need to add this script on every object that I want to detect??
https://opsive.com/support/document...roller/items/actions/usable/shootable-weapon/

I attached this script to ground (plane), it executed successfully.
like that, suppose I want to detect whether bullet hit to ground/enemy head/enemy body/explosive barrel etc..

should I need to add this script on every receiver game object?? suppose there are 25 objects or may be more??
So is there other simple way to achieve this (by following standard code pattern)?

Code:
using UnityEngine;