Two tasks run simultaneously when it shouldn't

Tsidev

Hello,
I'm quite new to the Behaviour Tree asset but I'm slowly getting the hang of it.

What my Behaviour Tree does (most of the time) / should do :
  • the agent wanders and, at the same time, checks if the player is within sight and if it is being hit (via a custom OnGettingHit event)
  • if the agent is hit or player is within sight, it will seek the player to go to its melee range.
  • once arrived at destination a "subtree" is executed : (it is where the problem lies)
    • agent is in combat task (only returns Task.Running) and at the same times, checks that its target is still within a certain distance
    • if its target gets too far away and is no more in melee range, it returns failure, inverted to success, so the Seek task can trigger and make the agent go to its target melee range again.
    • repeat this subtree.
It works most of the time. However, sometimes, the Seek task and the Combat task run simultaneously (it shouldn't). There is nothing in my combat task, only return Task.Running after a Debug.Log(). My Seek task however, alternates between "Has arrived" and "Set destination" even though the agent is already at melee range.

My Seek task is quite basic, based on the A* original one provided in the Movement Pack :
C#:
public class Seek : IAstarAIMovement
{
    [Tooltip("The GameObject that the agent is moving towards")]
    public SharedGameObject target;
    [Tooltip("If target is null then use the target position")]
    public SharedVector3 targetPosition;

private EnemyManager enemyManager;

public override void OnAwake()
    {
        base.OnAwake();

enemyManager = GetComponent<EnemyManager>();

if (enemyManager == null) Debug.LogError("Seek.cs > enemyManager is NULL !");
    }

public override void OnStart()
    {
        base.OnStart();

SetDestination(Target());
        enemyManager.enemyAnimatorManager.PlayRunAnimation();
    }