As a newbie, I cannot get a character to swing a friggin' katana

TimeChasm

I just purchased the First Person Controller pack and was able to get the example character model in and moving around. With minimal effort I was even able to create a new katana item and make the character hold it. But FOR THE LIFE OF ME, I cannot make the character's swing animation play. I've gone over the tutorial videos numerous times, following step by step and still no luck.

Using Unity 2018.3.8f1

Repro steps:

1. Create a new scene
2. In UCC menu: Add Managers, Setup Camera, Add UI
3. Setup a new character with the following options:
Screen Shot 2019-03-16 at 9.28.17 PM.png

4.Set up a katana item using the following options:
Screen Shot 2019-03-16 at 9.29.28 PM.png

5. I try running the game and everything gets set up correctly, the character is holding the katana item, but no animation plays when clicking. Character movement works as expected otherwise.

PS - Should also be noted that when I add the Third Person Objects in the Character Manager, it seems to disable the arm rig at runtime...

PPS - I also get 2 errors when running the game: