Whole behaviour tree disappeared on editor , "KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary." shows on the console

Desertfeng

I tried to make a simple template of an external behaviour tree, so I could quickly make some similar external behaviour trees.
What I did was duplicate a gameobject attached behaviour tree several times, and I also made a prefab of that template. i can't remember clearly what i did because this is my first time using behaviour designer, so I explored some setting, changed some variable name , suddenly the whole behaviour tree disappeared and i got some error message. here's the screenshot, can i get some help? thanks.

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    151.5 KB · Views: 4
  • 2.png
    2.png
    116.8 KB · Views: 4
Are you able to tell me how to reproduce the error? I don't see the call stack so I'm not sure what part of code is triggering that error.

Are you able to tell me how to reproduce the error? I don't see the call stack so I'm not sure what part of code is triggering that error.
Hi Justin, I tried to reproduce it but i failed. but theres one thing could be help, before the error happened I noticed there are two variables (my custom sharedvariable) with the same name displayed on the inspector. it pumps some error messge through unity console at beginning, then i delete one of them. Suddenly the entire behavior tree disappears.
Do you have any clues on what could cause this error (like how to create two variables with the same name which is not allowed in normal situations) so that i can try to reproduce it or avoid it.
And, in my case, is there a way I could recover it? (like manual edit some json file or something) , or i just permanently lose my work? I'm kind of worried if that happened in the later period of development.

Last edited: