Opsive really needs a polished tutorial series

harryben

There should be a video to follow along, to get a very polished level. An example would be like this one( I am aware there was a UFPS tutorial by Unity, but it really doesn't leverage UCC and BD good enough.):

Opsive solutions is able to do what Substance Suite by Allegorithmic, to Unity game dev, for its AI solutions. Yet, there is no one video to get you a AAA level, yet its all small pieces with relatively mobile graphics and experiences. I have been coding and doing Technical art for years in LA. a lot of it really comes down to a great presentation. You can make a 5-star meal, but underrepresented, so it ends up a local deli.

If I can make suggestions on what you should do in a tutorial series:

1.Good Art, at least URP, preferably HDRP. Add some scene settings. Models should look AAA. (I am a coder and technical art in LA. Yes I know this is not about UCC. But many key stuff come into play, how do we get a great looking Generic Main Character? How do we get AAA animation to work with this asset? these can be covered here)

2.Good level design. How do we design a level with BD effectively? We want the author to show us how to plot a fun level, with the traits of BD. How to design a level has to do with the specific technical limitation and pipeline. In this case, more about how to use dynamic graviy, teleport and BD effectively and efficiently? You need to show this to people. UE4.23 has tutorials on creating complex AI with Behaviour Tree.

3.Complex AI. Something like No One Lives Forever or Hitman series, even though it is GOAP.

If we can get a level like No One Lives Forever with a series of tutorial, that looks HDRP. I bet UCC is going to make way more difference, than going through all the integrations and add-ons.

This is what users can achieve with an asset in UE4: