Help with default TPC RPG movement type

Edub101

Hello. I'm using Unity 2018.3.14f1, and the latest version of TPC. I am a novice, and non-coder who is easily confused, so please forgive my struggles with even the basic setup. I'm trying to set up the Third Person RPG default movement type on an object. Specifically, a vehicle like a pirate ship or space ship. I've added the Game manager and updated layers and Input, which I assume means the default inputs listed in the manual are set. I used the character manager to set up the default movement type for Third Person RPG on an empty object with a simple child mesh to represent the ship. The defaults say "Q" and "E" should strafe, but nothing happens. Also, using "A" and "D" does rotate the character, but does so as if the pivot point is behind the character--like the hands of a clock--rather than rotate around the actual pivot point of the object, which is through the center. If I hold the center mouse button down, and turn with the mouse, the pivot is correct. What I would ultimately like is to have movement completely independent of the camera, so the camera doesn't affect character rotation and can freely look at the ship while the keyboard controls movement. I would like "A" and "D" to rotate the character around the vertical axis (like holding the middle mouse currently does), and "Q" and "E" to strafe. It may be worth noting that forward ("W"), reverse ("S"), auto-run (toggle "F"), and the RPG camera defaults seem to be working. I am not using animations yet, so root motion if off, and there is no rig or bones in the model. What settings should I use to strafe, and to fix the rotation so "A" and "D" spin the object around it's natural pivot (in this case, an empty object that should serve as a pivot)?

Thanks for any advice!