FMOD Integration?

Hello,

Do you have any plans to support FMOD? There are several issues with the audio manager (or how it is used) and I'm considering leveraging fmod. Before I dig into updating the Audio Manager to utilize FMOD do you already have plans for this integration?

There are currently no plans. If your changes are generic so you are just swapping out the audio manager or something like that let me know and I'll see if I can incorporate them into the next version.

Hi,

Did you have any joy integrating with FMOD? I'm not a coder and it seems like it'd be quite involved. I have to use FMOD for the music therefore I would lose the sfx from UTPS.

Thanks

I tried a lot of different implementations trying not to be invasive editing too many core classes. I actually was successful by creating fake audio files and naming them the same as the event in fmod. For example if you have an event called footsteps inside the Player folder. I named the audio file “FMOD_Player_Footsteps.wav. Since all audio passes through the audio manager I edited the AudioManager to look at the name of the audio clip to see if “FMOD” was present in the string. If it was present, I called an event on an FMOD_AudioManager I created to play the sound. If it wasn’t, then it just plays the audio using the built in manager. I passed the name of the audio clip and edited the string to convert it into an FMOD event reference. So “FMOD_Player_Footsteps.wav” became “event:/Player/Footsteps. Once that worked I just created audio clips for all of the events and assigned them to the abilities, weapons and other events. It’s really hacky but it works really well. I only used this implementation on Character controller elements and it was the only way to get all of them to work without modifying all of the core classes. For other things like pickups and music I’m using the Unity FMOD scripts.

I will post more details and my scripts once I get home.