Top Down Local Multiplayer camera

motomax

Hi guys,

I just started with TPS, I am a dev with extensive knowledge, but I do not understand how to setup a top down game with local multiplayer functionality (i.e. 2 characters, one controlled by gamepad, the other one by mouse/keyboard). I would write a simple camera script on my own (which just zooms and pans with the 2 char. in focus). I don't understand how to "disconnect" cam controller and character controller; I get the "missing look source" exception. Can you give me a little hint?

If you are getting missing look source errors make sure you specify the character that each camera should be assigned to within the Camera Controller. This is for first person but your setup should look similar to:

You do not need to perform steps 5, 6, or 7.

Thanks for your quick reply.
Sorry, I guess I wasn't clear. The game is ONE camera total, with 1-4 players in an arena. No splitscreen. This one camera should always show all players. How can I solve the "missing look source" exception, as I can assign only ONE character to the camera controller?

Unbenannt.jpg

The camera controller currently doesn't support that use case. I can add it to my list but for right now you will need to implement a new ILookSource for each character and then create a new camera controller which can show all of the characters. For a sample look source implementation take a look at the LocalLookSource component.

The camera controller currently doesn't support that use case. I can add it to my list but for right now you will need to implement a new ILookSource for each character and then create a new camera controller which can show all of the characters. For a sample look source implementation take a look at the LocalLookSource component.
Hello,